Gluten Free Chocolate

Are you one of the individuals who have to stay away from anything that contains gluten? Gluten free diets can be overwhelming because you have to be extremely careful about what you eat. Even a trace amount of gluten can be harmful for those people who suffer from celiac disease or who have a gluten allergy.

One of the most difficult questions you probably have to wrestle with is whether or not you’ll have to give up chocolate.

Well, you can put your mind at ease because there are gluten-free chocolates available for you!

What is a gluten-free diet?

You’ve been hearing it for a while now – the gluten free diet. Are you still unsure about what exactly ‘gluten-free’ really is?

A gluten free diet is one which excludes the protein gluten, which is found in wheat and grains. In recent years, there has been a surge in the number of people who now suffer from gluten allergies. It is also particularly problematic for those individuals who suffer from celiac disease because it causes their small intestines to inflame.

A gluten free diet can be challenging at first because it requires you to take a deeper look at what you consume. All foods that have been processed or mixed with gluten containing grains can be problematic. For this reason, it is highly recommended that you only consume those types of foods that are specifically labeled as ‘gluten-free’.

Gluten-free chocolate

Chocolate lovers, have no fear! If you’re on a gluten free diet, there are chocolates out there that are completely free of even a trace of gluten.

You must have wondered how chocolate could contain gluten considering the fact that there are no grains involved in the manufacturing of chocolate. Chocolate often gets ‘contaminated’ with gluten because it is subjected to gluten cross examination. This occurs when the chocolate is being manufactured because it is made using the same equipment or in the same facilities as other gluten containing products. This leads to the chocolate itself having trace amounts of gluten.

In order for a chocolate to be considered gluten-free, it must be certified by the Gluten Free Certification Organization. This organization inspects facilities and products to ensure they are gluten-free.

Gluten-free chocolate desserts

So, you’ve got your fix of chocolate bars which are gluten-free. Now the question is – is your gluten-free diet going to get in the way of you and all the delicious chocolate desserts?

Pure baking chocolate itself is often gluten-free. The problem arises with the other ingredients that go into the dessert. For example, flour or eggs may contain the wheat protein.

To enjoy all the desserts you love, just be careful that all the ingredients that go into the dessert are gluten-free. You could also substitute the ingredient which has gluten for something else.

Here’s a delicious recipe for gluten-free chocolate brownies:

  • 6 tbsp. unsalted butter
  • ¾ cup of granulated sugar
  • 8 oz. semisweet chocolate, chopped
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3 tbsp. cornstarch
  • ¼ tsp. salt

Preparation of Gluten Free Chocolate

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a small saucepan over low heat, melt the butter, and then add the sugar. Once the sugar is melted, add the chopped chocolate, stirring until smooth. Remove from the heat and add the eggs, one at a time. Lastly add the vanilla extract.
  3. Sift the cocoa powder and cornstarch into the saucepan and add salt. Stir together, and then beat the batter vigorously for 1-2 minutes. Beat until the batter is smooth and shiny.
  4. Pour the batter into an 8×8 prepared pan and bake for 20-25 minutes or until the brownies are set in the center. Do not over bake! Remove from oven and let it cool in the pan for 45 minutes before removing and slicing.

And there you have it! All your chocolate needs solved. Your gluten-free diet isn’t going to come between you and your chocolate cravings.